Personal

A Day in My Life

In the morning, I enjoy a dose of Zrii Amalaki, an Achieve protein shake, a cup of herbal tea, and often a glass of Zrii’s Purify fiber and detox oil.

I usually read 5 newspapers: the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Sun-Times, USA Today, and occasionally the Financial Times. I read my emails and try to respond immediately.

My mornings and afternoons consist mainly of phone calls, conference calls, correspondence, and travel.

I don't eat much meat. Instead I try to consume lots of fruits, vegetables, and fish. I tend to gravitate toward soups and salads, which are low in fat. I love Indian, Italian and Thai cuisine.

Usually, I schedule a workout some time between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. I am fortunate enough to have a gym both in the office and at home. I try to exercise five days a week. Three days a week, I work out with a trainer. It’s a one-hour session consisting of leg and upper body workouts. I try to vary the routine so as not to get too bored or too accustomed to a particular workout. I still get a little sore after most workouts because I push myself fairly hard. But I have to be a little bit more careful with my knees and shoulder joints now that I'm older!

If I am in Chicago and working out of my office downtown, located in the Sears Tower, I usually leave around 6:30 or 6:45 at nightto pick up my teenage son, Liam, after golf/basketball/volleyball practice. Dinner is usually around 7:30. I might then catch up on some reading, and maybe watch a little TV ordo a little homework with Liam (if he lets me -- that’s a big if!).

My dog Owen is a great companion. He loves to sit next to me and get his ears rubbed.

Then it’s off to bed between 11 p.m. and midnight with my wife Shelley, who is not only a fascinating and amazingly talented woman but also the love of my life.